The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement is an agreement among member states, districts and territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs. It is intended to make it easier for students to enroll in online courses and programs offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state. SARA is overseen by a National Council and administered by four regional education compacts.

SARA Membership is voluntary for institutions.

Instructions for institutions

  • Institutions should submit the SARA Application and the Memorandum of Agreement to Alana Colburn
  • ADHE will notify an institution when their application for SARA has been approved and send a link to the NC-SARA payment form to finalize participation in SARA.  
  • Once payment is received, the institution is officially participating in SARA and will be listed on the NC-SARA website.

Include the following with the application:  a list of the online programs your institution provides to students outside of Arkansas, the student grievance policy of the institution, and the financial responsibility composite score of the institution (for non-public institutions).  There is no fee to ADHE for institutions to participate in SARA.

SARA Press Release
MOA for SARA Institutions
SARA Insitutional Application