Academic Common Market

Through the Academic Common Market, a program coordinated by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB), students in 16 southern states can enroll in selected programs at public institutions in other states and pay in-state tuition. (The degree program cannot be offered at a public Arkansas institution.) The Academic Common Market is not a distance learning program; students must attend classes at the college or university.

The programs available to ARKANSAS residents through the Academic Common Market are listed below. For information on admission to any of these programs, contact the college or university directly. Once you are accepted into one of these programs and can provide the required documentation that proves you are a legal resident of ARKANSAS, contact the ARKANSAS Academic Common Market Coordinator to become eligible for the tuition reduction. (An individual living in Arkansas solely for the purpose of attending an Arkansas college or university is not a legal resident of the state and cannot be certified for the Academic Common Market.)

The states participating in the Academic Common Market are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. Florida and Texas participate only at the graduate level. Clemson University, Georgia State University, The College of William and Mary (VA), and Virginia Commonwealth University (VA) participate only at the graduate level. James Madison University (VA), Mary Washington College (VA), The University of Virginia, The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Maryland, College Park campus do not participate in the Academic Common Market. *The University of Georgia limits undergraduate participation typically to the junior and senior years. *Auburn University (AL) participates only at the undergraduate level and participation is limited to junior and senior students who meet certain requirements. Please contact the University of Georgia and Auburn University for more details. Georgia Institute of Technology (GA Tech) does not participate in the Academic Common Market at the undergraduate level for any program. Participation is limited to graduate level and programs that are already in the Academic Common Market inventory. The state of North Carolina does not participate in the Academic Common Market. Therefore, degree programs at East Carolina University cannot be offered through the Academic Common Market. The number and types of programs available through the Academic Common Market change continually. 

Tracye McKeown, Coordinator
Academic Common Market
501.371.2021 (telephone)

SREB Website (

Academic Common Market

The following first professional degrees are not eligible in the ACM:

  • Doctor of Audiology (Au.D.)
  • Doctor of Chiropractic (D.C. or D.C.M.)
  • Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.)
  • Doctor of Physical Therapy (D.P.T.)

Any Arkansas resident currently enrolled in one of these programs will be allowed to complete the program unless:

  • Student changes his or her major
  • Student stops out from the degree

ACM Certification Process
ACM Application for Certification